About Cochise

Credit Union History
The credit union movement began more than 150 years ago with a simple idea – that people could achieve a better standard of living for themselves and others by pooling their savings and making loans to neighbors and co-workers.

The credit union movement began in the United States in 1909 when the first credit union was formed in Manchester, New Hampshire. Credit unions serve many people left unserved by traditional banking institutions and provide an alternative to the oppressive loan rates charged by predatory lenders.

Today's credit unions remain unique financial institutions with a "not for profit but for service" operating philosophy. Annual polls show that credit unions lead the financial community year after year by providing top quality personal service to millions of Americans. Today, thousands of credit unions – which are democratically controlled financial cooperatives – serve more than 170 million credit union members worldwide.

Cochise Credit Union
Cochise Credit Union was state chartered in 1958 in Willcox, AZ to serve the financial needs of Sulphur Springs Valley Electric Cooperative (SSVEC) employees and their families. Over the years the credit union has expanded their field of membership to serve the following zip codes: 85643, 85644, 85625, 85605, 85606, and 85632. With our expanded field of membership, we are ready to serve even more of your friends and family members. Come discover the best financial institution in your neighborhood.

Cochise Credit Union has one branch located in Willcox, AZ. We serve more than 4200 members from our field of membership and employer groups which include: Sulphur Springs Valley Electric Cooperative, Valley Telecom Group, Arizona Electric Power Cooperative, Sierra Southwest Cooperative, and Southwest Transmission Cooperative Services and have more than $30 million in assets. We are strong and stable and are considered one of the finest credit unions in Southern Arizona. Cochise Credit Union has received the Credit Union Progress Award (CUPA) from the Arizona Credit Union League in 1998, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2009 & 2010. This award recognizes credit unions for their outstanding growth and progress in conjunction with their asset size.

To join, simply stop by our office or apply now.

Board of Directors
Troy Judd - Chairman
Betsy Ajeman - Vice-Chairman
Kathy Moreno - Secretary
Betty Peterson - Treasurer
Lorie Zamora - Member
Dan Douglas - Member
Nancy Welch - Member

Supervisory Committee
Rich Dullum - Chairman
Revonda Laws - Member
Phyllis Cohorn - Member